ECM is an independent, growth-oriented private equity firm focused on mid-sized enterprises (Mittelstand). We invest in companies that are leaders in their respective niche with the objective of further developing them in partnership with management teams and entrepreneurs. We ourselves are entrepreneurs and engage ourselves with passion and full personal commitment.

Currently, we are investing our fourth fund GEP IV with equity commitments of €230m.


years active in the German private equity market
investments and add-ons since foundation
percent average increase in number of employees during the holding period
percent average growth in revenue during the holding period
What entrepreneurs and managers say about us
'Bergmann Automotive has undergone significant growth over the years. Further growth required not only significant investment, but also the adaptation of organisational structures, responsibilities and management information systems to the increased size of the business. ECM actively supported us from day one and, at the same time, took the necessary steps to organise my succession as managing director.'- Bernhard Büthe, former CEO and shareholder of Bergmann Automotive
I have always valued ECM’s trust in management and the fact that they did not interfere with the day-to-day operations. The ECM team served as sparring partner for the management team throughout the ownership period.- Patrick Sievi, CEO and shareholder of KADI
ECM is a good partner for mid-sized companies. The people at ECM not only think entrepreneurially, but also extend a helping hand with entrepreneurial challenges.- Caspar Graf Stauffenberg, former CEO and shareholder of MAP
With ECM’s expertise in corporate transactions and its international experience, it was possible for us to vertically integrate three add-on acquisitions, both domestically and abroad, and therefore to achieve sustainable competitive advantages in the market.- Sebastian Karrer, former CEO and shareholder of the Polytan Group
The financial crisis in 2008 and 2009 had a dramatic impact on our business as well. ECM continued to support the company throughout this difficult period. We managed to get through the crisis because of – among other things – further equity capital provided by the GEP funds.- Torsten Prelle, CEO and shareholder of IN tIME

We have an international, multidisciplinary investment team with long-standing private equity experience with mid-sized businesses. All investment decisions are exclusively made by the ECM team – fast, flexible, pragmatic.

Our culture is characterised by team spirit, entrepreneurship and reliability.

Unabhängig.
Partnerschaftlich.
Erfahren.

ECM ist eine unabhängige, wachstumsorientierte Beteiligungsgesellschaft mit Fokus auf mittelständische Unternehmen. Wir investieren in Unternehmen, die in ihrer jeweiligen Nische führend sind, mit dem Ziel, diese partnerschaftlich mit Management-Teams und Unternehmern nachhaltig weiterzuentwickeln. Wir sind selbst Unternehmer und agieren mit Leidenschaft und persönlichem Engagement.

Aktuell investieren wir aus unserem vierten Fonds GEP IV mit Eigenkapitalmitteln in Höhe von 230 Mio. €.

MEHR ERFAHREN

20
Jahre im deutschen Eigenkapitalmarkt aktiv
35
Beteiligungen und Unternehmenszukäufe seit Gründung
30
Prozent durchschnittlicher Anstieg der Mitarbeiterzahl während der Beteiligung
40
Prozent durchschnittliches Umsatzwachstum während der Beteiligung
Was Unternehmer und Manager über uns sagen
'Bergmann Automotive ist über die Jahre stark gewachsen. Für weiteres Wachstum mussten neben signifikanten Investitionen auch die Organisationsstrukturen, Verantwortlichkeiten und Controlling-Systeme an die Unternehmensgröße angepasst werden. Hierbei hat uns ECM von Tag 1 an aktiv unterstützt und parallel die Weichen für meine Nachfolge als Geschäftsführer gestellt.'- Bernhard Büthe, ehemaliger geschäftsführender Gesellschafter von Bergmann Automotive
'An ECM habe ich stets geschätzt, dass man der Geschäftsführung das Vertrauen geschenkt und sich nicht in das Tagesgeschäft eingemischt hat. Das ECM-Team stand dennoch jederzeit als Ansprechpartner für das Management-Team zur Verfügung.'- Patrick Sievi, geschäftsführender Gesellschafter von KADI
'ECM ist ein guter Partner für den Mittelstand. Die Menschen bei ECM denken nicht nur unternehmerisch, sie reichen auch die helfende Hand bei unternehmerischen Herausforderungen.'- Caspar Graf Stauffenberg, ehemaliger geschäftsführender Gesellschafter von MAP
'Dank der Expertise von ECM bei Unternehmenstransaktionen und der internationalen Erfahrung ist es uns gelungen das Unternehmen durch drei Zukäufe im In- und Ausland vertikal zu integrieren und somit einen nachhaltigen Wettbewerbsvorteil im Markt zu erlangen.'- Sebastian Karrer, ehemaliger geschäftsführender Gesellschafter der Polytan-Gruppe
'Die Wirtschaftskrise 2008/09 hatte auch für unser Geschäft dramatische Auswirkungen. ECM stand auch während dieser schwierigen Phase jederzeit zum Unternehmen. Die Krise haben wir u.a. durch zusätzliche Eigenkapitalmittel der GEP-Fonds gemeistert.'- Torsten Prelle, COO und ehemaliger Gesellschafter IN tIME
UNSER TEAM

Wir haben ein internationales, interdisziplinäres Investment-Team mit jahrelanger Beteiligungserfahrung im Mittelstand. Alle Investitionsentscheidungen werden allein vom ECM-Team getroffen – schnell, flexibel, pragmatisch.

Unsere Kultur ist geprägt von Team-Spirit, Unternehmertum und Verlässlichkeit.

MEHR ERFAHREN